New Look, New Hat

30 Jan

This tam was the first project I've ever completed using beading.

This week I used a new knitting technique and gave my blog a makeover. I’m slow to accept change most of the time, but this is just refreshing.

The new knitting technique was part of my Garden Party Lights Tam, made from the Holiday Lights Tam pattern published in Interweave Knits Winter 2011.

Though “Holiday Lights” was a very fitting name for the golden hat featured in the magazine, I felt that my green-and-blue version, knit on the cusp of spring, better represents a sort of garden-party, crocus-bud kind of feeling.

Using the beading technique for the first time was interesting, but very easy to get the hang of. This technique involved stringing beads onto your yarn before knitting, then placing the beads on certain stitches for the pattern. This particular hat highlights the beads using a slipped-stitch bow pattern, which to me makes the beads look like little droplets of water sliding down a green bulb.

The yarn is Cascade Ultra Pima (DK / 220 yards) in the Olive colorway, and has been hanging around my stash for nearly a year now. I purchased it at Loopy Knit/Crochet in Missoula, but haven’t been pleased with any particular pattern I tried for it. I knew I wanted to use it for a beret or tam, an after several non-starts, this pattern seemed like the perfect fit. The yardage was also perfect for this project, and I have a little chunk left over that will go into my hexipuff stash.

The beads were purchased at my local Jo-Ann Fabrics and are Blue Moon 6/0 seed beads in a blue/turquoise color. For less than $3 I was able to buy enough beads for two hats, with each hat requiring 360 beads.

This hat will not be staying with me, although I hope to knit one for myself in colors more to my taste. This particular hat will be arriving in the mailbox of some lucky lady within the next week, and I hope she loves it.

As far as the new look for my blog, I wanted to spice things up a bit and draw more attention to some of the extra links I provide. I hope to add more original designs to my Patterns page, and the links under More Blogs are my favorite source of humor and inspiration.

I hope you all like the new look! Coming up: The Scent of Lavender.

4 Responses to “New Look, New Hat”

  1. MaMa 01/30/2012 at 4:29 PM #

    I love the new lookand the bead work is beautiful! I have always been a little scared to try it with crochet but as always you inspire me!

    • bpallares 01/30/2012 at 4:59 PM #

      One of my most prized possessions is the wrap you crocheted for me that I wore at my wedding. That features beautiful beadwork, and I’m sure you’d have no problem working with the stranded method.

      • Courtney 02/01/2012 at 7:50 PM #

        I absolutely LOVE this hat, Bess you did a great job! I’m interested in starting to knit. I crocheted in Junior High and enjoyed it, and after seeing all of the beautiful projects you’ve made I’ve been inspired to learn.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cold-Ear Remedies « Sockilism - 02/12/2012

    […] four hats have come off my needles, and one didn’t even stay with me.  (My mom loves her Garden Party Lights Tam, by the […]

Leave a Reply

