The Scent of Lavender

20 Feb

Many socks bunch up when I wear them with heels, but these fit perfectly. (Ignore the splotch on my shoe. I'm a busy woman! Who has time to polish their shoes when there are socks to knit?)

I have completed my Scent of Lavender socks – and holidays still count as the weekend, so I made my deadline. Now I just have to wait for the weather to warm up so I can show them off. They fit perfectly with my favorite wedges, so I foresee a lot of skirt days this spring.

I really enjoyed this pattern, though I did make a modification by removing the ribbing on the bottom of the heel and toe. The ridges left by ribbing can be very uncomfortable to stand on, so I switched to regular, soft stockinette stitch for those sections.

I had just enough yarn from the ball my brother-in-law got me for Christmas, with a little bit leftover to go into my hexipuff stash.

These beauties aren't meant to be hidden in full shoes.

Project Details

Scent of Lavender Socks

Pattern: Scent of Lavender, Stephanie van der Linden, Around the World in Knitted Socks

Yarn: Quo Vadis Handspun San Bamboo, 328 yards, 75% bamboo / 25% nylon, colorway: The Lost City

Needles: US 1 32β€³ circular (magic loop method), US 1 DPNs

3 Responses to “The Scent of Lavender”

  1. luminousvegans 02/20/2012 at 6:03 PM #

    That yarn is so pretty. It looks really soft.

    • luminousvegans 02/20/2012 at 6:05 PM #

      I forgot to also say that the socks are pretty too πŸ™‚

  2. luminousvegans 02/26/2012 at 4:46 AM #

    I enjoy your blog a lot, so I picked you for a versatile blogger award. Collect it here:
    http://luminousvegans.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/versatile-blogger-award/

Leave a Reply

