Little Coffee Bean Cardigan

14 Apr

Grosgrain ribbon reinforces the back of the button band, keeping the fabric from puckering.

This week I continued my baby-knitting fever and made Elizabeth Smith’s Little Coffee Bean Cardigan. This sweater is meant to feature stripes, but I love the look of the simple brown cardigan with classic buttons.

The sweater is sized for a 6-month old, and is very soft and cushy, knit with about 300 yards of Berroco Comfort Worsted in Coffeeberry.

The buttons are plastic and machine washable, just like the sweater, but look like traditional leather buttons. The button band is reinforced on the back with 7/8″ grograin ribbon to keep the fabric from puckering due to pulling on the button shanks.

This was a fun, sweet project to work on all week. Every day I had another big chunk of it done (the joy of baby knitting!) and it’s so exciting to see a sweater bloom from a pattern that quickly.

The pattern is free and I’ll definitely keep it in mind for future projects. You can easily experiment with stripes and colorwork on the blank-slate stockinette of the body and sleeves.

I purchased the yarn on clearance months ago at Loopy Knit/Crochet in Missoula and the ribbon and buttons were less than $5 at my local Jo-Ann Fabrics.

I think I’m officially over my baby craze (for awhile) and I’m back to working on my stripy socks – a project that was delayed by misplaced Addi Turbos.

The yarn is Berroco Comfort Sock in the Dunedin colorway. This yarn is only $8 per skein, and each skein is 447 yards. It's an amazing deal for soft, durable yarn.

I have some yarn coming in the mail this week for a gift. Yes, we’re entering that long birthday season in my family, so many of my big projects can’t be revealed on this blog until after they are gifted. I will try to keep up some little projects and write about knitting-related topics during this time, and I definitely won’t let the blog go dormant this year!

Right now, though, I’m headed outside because it is GORGEOUS and I have a vintage Schwinn cruiser with my name on it.

3 Responses to “Little Coffee Bean Cardigan”

  1. Sarah Clark 04/14/2012 at 12:50 PM #

    Hi Bess! I like this! I just started a baby hat (I’m going to be an aunt in August). It’s my first time knitting in probably 12 years and it’s a little slow going, especially for a baby item, but I’m liking it. Maybe if I don’t get completely frustrated I’ll try a sweater next!

    • bpallares 04/14/2012 at 5:45 PM #

      That’s so sweet! I knit so much without an actual baby to give anything to, I imagine I’m going to go nuts when I have a real recipient in mind. Good luck with your hat!

      • Sarah 04/15/2012 at 7:05 AM #

        It’s definitely fun! I basically started over (again) last night. I need to stop trying to remember how the pattern goes and just going for it. This time I’m going to do it right! I printed off the pattern at work and I swear I’m going to remember to take it home tonight.

Leave a Reply

