Ravelympics

4 Jun

Ravelympics is fast approaching, and this year I believe I will participate.

Ravelympics is a mash-up of Ravelry and Olympics – an event that challenges knitters to complete one large (or difficult) pattern during the timespan of the Olympic Games.

During a time when so many athletes are displaying their physical prowess and commitment to attaining perfection, knitters can knuckle down and show their stuff, too. And there’s always going to be something good on TV during your knitting!

The Ravelympics kick off during the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games, which will be taking place at 7:30 p.m. on July 27 in London. This means I can cast on my project at 12:30 p.m. (in Montana) on the 27th, and must finish by the closing ceremonies on Aug. 12.

I will be coming off a birthday knitting bender on July 27. My parents and aunt will be arriving for a few days’ visit, and my mom and dad will receive their birthday presents. (Mom’s is almost off the needles, and will be quickly replaced by dad’s)

Given that I will have knit SO much in the past few months before the Ravelympics, I think I’ll be in fine fighting form to take on a fun project for myself: A sweater.

I haven’t knit a sweater for myself, other than a quick bulky-weight vest thingy. Although a sweater isn’t really going to be a technical challenge, the time limit certainly will be.

I’m going to try to be nice to myself, but during this timeframe I will be (hopefully) starting a new job, having my family visit, flying to California to visit my in-laws, and trying to prepare my husband and daughter for returning to school!

Now, why would I be crazy enough to try to knit myself a freaking sweater during all of that? Because I am going to need it. I have a feeling that taking time to myself and working on a totally selfish project like a kick-ass sweater is going to be the thing that gets me through those two weeks.

Images copyright Veera Välimäki.

Images copyright Veera Välimäki.

The pattern I’m planning on is the Hooray Cardigan by Veera Välimäki. It’s a top-down, seamless cardigan with 3/4-length sleeves. Given the time constraints of the Ravelympics, I think this construction and size will be the most realistic. I’ll be knitting the 42” bust size to fit 40.5” with some positive ease. I plan on using some Berroco Comfort DK yarn, but I’m still undecided on the color.

I’m hoping that this plan works out and that knitting myself this beautiful sweater will actually help relax me during that busy time, but we’ll have to wait and see.

Learn more about Ravelympics here. I’m not part of a team, and I won’t be competing in any of the events, but I wanted to take the opportunity to challenge myself and hopefully get a cool sweater out of it!

One Response to “Ravelympics”

  1. mama 06/05/2012 at 10:36 AM #

    I think the sweater is beautiful and yes after doind so much for others you deserve this time and Aunt and I will be there and give you plenty of encouragement and time for “woman” chat and knitting.

Leave a Reply

