My stash runneth over

7 Jun

I recently helped my good friend Kristine out with the simple task of checking in on her birds while she was out of town. They’re good birds, and her house is on my way to work, so it was truly no problem to do this favor.

Last night Kristine (and the birds!) thanked me with a gift certificate to my favorite local yarn shop! While this was totally unnecessary, I will not turn down yarn and I was touched by the thoughtfulness.

Gift certificates burn a hole in my pocket, so this afternoon I went down to Loopy Knit/Crochet and came out with two bright, electric blue skeins of Cascade Ultra Pima (440 yds total) and a Brittany shawl pin.

Brittany makes beautiful needles and crochet hooks in Northern California using sustainably harvest birch hardwood. I have a few sets of their needles, and the shawl pin looks like a short knitting needle. I love it!

As soon as I free up some knitting time for myself I’m going to make something gorgeous to go around my neck with this yarn. It might be a scarf or a shawl or a cowl, but whatever it is, it will be beautiful.

Thank you, Kristine!

2 Responses to “My stash runneth over”

  1. agujasblog 06/07/2012 at 7:36 PM #

    Very nice and I would not have turned down yarn either!

  2. luminousvegans 06/08/2012 at 7:54 AM #

    I have needle and yarn envy right now.

Leave a Reply

