Bessie’s Kitchen Hat

19 Jan
This easy chevron hat only took about two days to knit.

This easy chevron hat only took about two days to knit.

I’ve had my eye on the Ida’s Kitchen pattern by Kristen Kapur for a while now, so when I picked up some Debbie Bliss Ecobaby on clearance recently at my LYS, I gathered up some other odds and ends of sport-weight yarn and cast on this adorable hat. See my project here.

I have a small head, so I sized down the needles and used US 5 for the brim and US 6 for the body and crown. This pattern is a great way to bust sport and DK yarn ends from your stash. Each color only uses about 40 yds, and you can experiment with so many different colors.

The pattern calls for seven colors. The ones I used were:

  • A: Brown (KnitPicks Simply Cotton Sport)
  • B: Blue (Debbie Bliss Ecobaby)
  • C: Orange (South West Trading Company Terra)
  • D: Taupe (Debbie Bliss Ecobaby)
  • E: Green (South West Trading Company Terra)
  • F: Purple (Debbie Bliss Ecobaby)
  • G: Yellow (South West Trading Company Terra)

The hat only took a couple of days to knit and the pattern is very easy to memorize. This hat was a great way to work out the chevron love I developed while knitting my Chevron Stripes Baby Blanket.

Incidentally, I didn’t post the matching bonnet that I made for the blanket:

bonnet

The bonnet pattern and my modifications can be found on my Ravelry page.

Hopefully my stripe addiction will be sated for a bit and I can get back to knitting my Damask shawl.

2 Responses to “Bessie’s Kitchen Hat”

  1. mama 01/19/2013 at 5:58 PM #

    As always Bess great work. I wonder why it is called a kitchen hat? I was expecting something different from the name.

    • bpallares 01/20/2013 at 12:55 PM #

      The designer said the colors she originally did the hat in reminded her of a friend’s kitchen in the 1970s, so she named it Ida’s Kitchen after her friend’s mom.

Leave a Reply

