Baby Blue Vest

18 Aug

_DSC5186 _DSC5189 _DSC5191 _DSC5199

My nephew will be born in the next couple of weeks. Even though babies can’t comprehend the time and effort that goes into hand-knit items, I hope all the affection I poured into these stitches will sink into his soft little body and help him know he is loved.

The pattern, Viggo, is for a little striped vest, but I love this so much more. The main yarn is Araucania Lontue, a thick/thin light fingering weight cotton/linen blend. It’s not as soft as most baby yarns due to the linen content, but it will get softer with wear and washing, and as a vest it will be worn over shirts or onesies. Check out more technical details on my Ravelry page.

I got this yarn on closeout when one of my local yarn shops decided to shut down, and I used about half of one skein for this vest. I will definitely use the remaining yarn to make another baby vest or sweater, because I think this is too cute.

It’s not often that I don’t want to let go of a knitted item, but I’m sorry to see this leave. I won’t be around to see my nephew while he’s a little babe (they live several states away) so I won’t even get to enjoy cuddling him while he wears this. But I guess that’s what you get when you live away from your family.

This also makes a great companion for the striped bonnet I knit this spring.

5

2 Responses to “Baby Blue Vest”

  1. mama 08/19/2013 at 8:02 AM #

    That is how I feel with every stitch I put into an item!

  2. luminousvegans 08/20/2013 at 5:22 PM #

    That striped bonnet is beautiful as is the vest. Even though babies can’t really understand the time and love put into hand knits…the moms always do 🙂 My sister has hung onto all the stuff I’ve made for my nephews and nieces even though they have outgrown them.

Leave a Reply

